Brian Home


All Content Copyright 1998-2008 Brian Lumley - All Rights Reserved



Beneath the Moors


Copyright © 2001 by Brian Lumley
Jacket art by Bob Eggleton
ISBN: 0-312-87694-7
Published by Tom Doherty Associates, Inc.


Contains the stories:

  • David's Worm
  • Dagon's Bell
  • The Sun, the Sea, and the Silent Scream
  • The Second Wish
  • A "Thing" About Cars
  • Rising With Surtsey
  • Big "C"
  • The Fairground Horror

and the complete novel

  • Beneath the Moors


Buy from Buy from

In addition to his stellar Necroscope series, Brian Lumley is highly regarded for his short fiction, for which he has won the British Fantasy Award. Beneath the Moors and Darker Places, a companion to The Whisperer and Other Voices, collects nine lengthy exemplars of the best of Lumley's short works, many of them unavailable for decades in any form.

The Cthulhu Mythos of the immortal H.P. Lovecraft provides inspiration for much of Lumley's work, including "Dagon's Bell" and "Big C," both included here. The explosive creation of a new volcanic island off Iceland in 1967 led to "Rising with Surtsey," a homage not just to Lovecraft but to the great August Derleth. "David's Worm" --which takes an interesting view of "you are what you eat" --was published in a Year's Best Horror Stories and later adapted for radio in Europe.

The collection also includes the macabre "The Second Wish," published here for the first time with the author's original, intended ending, and "The Fairground Horror," first published in The Disciples of Cthulhu twenty-five years ago and not seen since save for a small press edition.

The title tale, Beneath the Moors, a complete short novel, has been unavailable in the United States since it's first publication by Arkham House in the early 1970s. It is considered to be one of Lumley's strongest short works; Tor is proud to restore this and the other pieces in this volume to Lumley's growing readership.